stuffbykib

Thoughts by me, and things I like.

Mass Effect and it’s massive effect…

Leave a comment

Don’t read this if you’ve not finished or played the series as it does contain spoilers!

So I finished Mass Effect 3 the other night and have spent the past few days just obsessing thinking about it and how incredible it is as a series.

I know how incredible it is because the only thing I have seen in my minds eye since finishing is this image:

20131012-173918.jpg

Kaiden Alenko. My gorgeous, loving and sweet Kaiden. So incredibly upset and scared that he is about to lose the person he loves most of all… It breaks my goddamn heart.

I have NEVER cried for a video game in my entire life. Mass Effect destroyed me. I sat at my computer chair weeping like I was actually experiencing this. I was in the relationship with Kaiden and Shepard. They were my boys. And I knew that it was essentially over.

I love gaming. I have admitted in a previous post that I am rubbish at completing games though as I often end up investing so much time and emotion into a game that I feel that if I finish it, I’m saying goodbye to friends and companions who have experienced something with me. This is why I have never completed Dragon Age. Why I’m still running around aimlessly in Skyrim… Give me a character I can create and invest hours of my life into, and I am the happiest person on the planet… But tell me the journey is coming to an end and I’m like Kaiden in that picture above.

Bioware are incredible for making games with characters you actually give a shit about. Mass Effect took that to a whole other level.

I can’t get the ending out of my head. I played through all three endings to see which felt best and ended up sticking with Destroy, mainly for selfish reasons. I wanted to keep my promise to Kaiden and return to him. But in doing so I murdered EDI and committed genocide against the Geth and Reapers. There was no other way for Kaiden and Shep to be together though. It had to be done 😦

Excuse me while I go to bed and cry into my pillow……………

Leave a comment